Productive week

I have the decorations put away for the most part and the house put back together, how quickly this week is going, how quickly this year has gone! I went to the dentist yesterday, had to have a tooth filled…again, same tooth I had filled before but it had started to decay under the filling. Hopefully I won’t have to have a root canal. It is still bothering me today, but not any worse than before. I don’t know if I should get the antibiotics and start on the pain meds or just wait it out. I thought it was going to be better, but I am going to have to take some ibuprophen here soon.

Kevin and April are back from her families place in Montana, they had a great time. I hopefully will get to see them on Jan 2, it will be great to see them again.

I got a call today asking me to talk with a mom of a special needs son who is getting bigger, stronger, and more difficult to deal with. I remember how I wanted to have someone to talk with that had navigated that path before me and there just wasn’t anyone. I have the opportunity to be there for someone else now. I am praying about what the Lord would have me say to her, how to be an encouragement to her. Her son has autism, that is different than David, but the special needs are still there and the frustrations are definately the same. The frustrations are so vast and are so much more than just dealing with the child but also the people that are in your life, trying to help them understand how to deal with your child, how to work through when your child misbehaves and causes problems in relationships, all of the pit falls that are out there and all the people who think they know what to do, but have no clue what it is like to live with a special needs child day in day out. I have to say that there are some people who are not good with a special needs person. We have to be so careful who is given charge of our kids. Some people have good intentions but are just not capable of really dealing with the issues that arise from taking care of these kids. I know David mirrors his enviroment, if it is stressful he is going to be more difficult and destructive to himself and property. I have done everything in my power to keep him calm, medication and keeping my home as peaceful as is in my power to do so. I also encourage those who take care of him to make use of DMG and to try to keep the enviroment calm. Michelle takes care of David in the afternoon and is doing a GREAT job with him, I know she has frustrations with him, but I do appreciate how she talks to me and lets me know if he is misbehaving. I do what I can to help with that, but the whole communication thing is huge, if I don’t know there is a problem I can’t do anything to help with it. I have really struggled with finding out that my son was so horrible on facebook rather then from the people whose home he was being destructive in. If you are a caregiver for a special needs person, please be honest with the family, communication is key to making things work. 

Well I have gone on and on here havent I? I really have things I need to be getting done so I am going to get off of here and get to work.

 

4 thoughts on “Productive week

  1. You will do great helping a mother of a special needs child as the Holy Spirit has given you wisdom beyond your age in dealing with David!!! You are an awesome. Mom and I love and have the utmost respect for you!!! Mom

  2. I just now saw this. Thank you for the compliment and thank you for trusting me with one of your most precious treasures! I’m more than happy to have him! I hope he’s happy putting up with us every day. I think he is, for the most part. And he lets us know it if he’s not- lol! I’m also thankful for the opportunity you’ve provided me to teach my own kids more about people with special needs. Because you’re right- not everyone is automatically good with a special needs person. I know my kids have learned a lot by being around David and I’m glad for that. I think they are getting lots of “hands-on” lessons in compassion, tolerance/patience, kindness, and RESPECT. A person with special needs deserves respect, just like anyone else. Telling them those things can only do so much- but being with David every day is helping them to put it into practice; to LIVE it. I hope so, anyway.

    I’m also very, very thankful I get to call you my friend. What a blessing. I love you!

Leave a Reply

