hypocrites, are they a good reason not to serve God?

I have heard that some I hold very dear, are stating their reason for walking away from the Lord is because of all the hypocrisy in the church. Welllll this is interesting. Interesting that one who has known God’s love and mercy would walk away from it because someone else is a hypocrite. Interesting that one who has known God’s healing and grace would walk away from Him and all He sacrificed for their salvation, because someone else is a hypocrite. The lies of the enemy are powerful tools and lethal as well. I don’t know how anyone would be able to just walk away who has truly known God, but I have seen it happen and it has happened to one who is incredibly dear to me. I also think that the “I don’t serve God because of all the hypocrites” is a crock and a poor excuse. We are all hypocrites in one way or another. We all do and say things we regret and wish had not been said or done. We all pretend to be what we are not, wanting to impress others or blend in, whatever the case may be. There are no exceptions to this, we are all human and we are all going to make mistakes. If I were to base my relationship with God, my husband, my children, my friends etc…on how someone else behaves than I would have no relationships at all. Others hypocrisy is not the reason that you no longer believe my dear, it is your own hypocrisy that is standing in the way of your relationship or lack there of with God. I have no reason to believe that this precious person even reads my blog, but it by chance you do, I want you to know that I love you dearly and I pray for you everyday, even in my hypocrisy I have a relationship with God, and he hears your name called out in prayer. My relationship with God is not based on my goodness or abilities but on His goodness and ability to keep me even in my hypocrisy. As He does with all those who love and serve Him. I don’t think I am the hypocrite you were talking about, but it dosn’t matter who it is, what matters is that you are believing a lie and accepting less than the best for your life. The enemy has laid before you a banquet of rotting food and blinded your eyes so that you think it is wonderful. I pray for your eyes to be opened and your ears unstopped, for the truth to be revealed in your life and the lies exposed. God has a plan for your life that is wonderful and fulfilling, but He won’t make you live that life, you can stay in the dark and perish if that is what you insist on. But you don’t have to. You will always have the hypocrites around you, your choice is to live for God on earth among the hypocrites and spend eternity with Him in heaven or live for the devil and spend eternity with him in hell along with the “hypocrites” that were truly liars and cheats.

Bottom line is that you make your choices, not because of hypocrites but because that is what you want to do. Hypocrites are nothing more than an excuse to make you feel better about yourself and why you chose to walk away. I know I am being harsh, I know that I am offensive, I also know that it is time to call black black and white white. It is time to stop being so worried about offending and be worried about souls that are dying and going to a devils hell because we in the church are afraid to speak truth for fear of offending someone. I for one am tired of blending in and not making a scene for the sake of keeping peace. Hell is real and Heaven is real, God is real and the devil is real. Jesus died so that we can be saved from a very real devils hell, rejecting that gift, that sacrifice will not go down better with God if your reason for doing so was because there were just to many hypocrites in the church.

2 thoughts on “hypocrites, are they a good reason not to serve God?

  1. PREACH IT!
    I’m agreeing with you in prayer for this person. While I don’t know who it is, I can clearly see the love and concern for this soul in your words, and pray that this person will feel that love, also, and not be offended by your concern. And may s/he know that the love you feel is only a tiny glimpse of the love God feels for her/him.

    The fact that people are hypocrites is ALL THE MORE reason to hold fast to the Savior, the ONLY ONE who never lies, who never changes, who never disappoints. In such a scary world, full of chaos, lies, betrayal and hurt everywhere we look, why turn away from the ONE thing that is constant? The ONE thing that will never fail us is the love of God. He is the only stable thing we have. The ONLY Giver of good things. The ONLY one who can be counted upon to NEVER let us down- to ALWAYS keep His word. His people don’t, unfortunately, but God never promises that His people will be perfect; only that He is.

    You’re right, Elaine. We are all hypocrites. Including this dearly confused person you are praying for. We’ve all fallen short. We all sin. I just did a minute ago, and will again before dinner, no doubt. The difference between the forgiven hypocrite and the lost, doomed hypocrite is HIS forgiveness, HIS mercy and the power of HIS precious Holy Spirit. The difference is HIM.

    To your “friend:”
    Rejecting God on the basis that those who serve Him are hypocrites is very flawed logic. Do you consider yourself to be an intelligent person? If so, then think about it for a second… If your friend gets cancer, would you give up on going to your doctor- worrying that you may catch it, too? Because that is exactly what you’re doing. That’s the logic you’re using. In reality, a friend’s cancer would probably have the opposite effect, wouldn’t it? It would serve as a wake-up call for you to get your own health checked out by a physician.

    Instead you blame the only one who can cure the cancer. Why blame God for something that is the devil’s fault? Allow the sinfulness you see around you to be your wake-up call that you, too, are probably in need of healing.

    It’s sad (and frankly a little silly) that you would let the actions of an imperfect, selfish human or two (or 200) determine your future and an eternity with a perfect, loving God.

    Turn TOWARD Jesus Christ and experience His rest and peace while the offer is still on the table. The days are drawing so, so short. I happen to believe there will be forgiven hypocrites in Heaven (because I plan to be there), but those who choose to reject Him won’t be. Which category of hypocrite would you rather be in? Seems like a no-brainer to me.

    Respectfully, you are making excuses for yourself and YOU KNOW IT. Don’t you? God will not be lied to, so stop lying to yourself. Have more respect for yourself than to be the devil’s plaything.

    If I turn out to be wrong (which, you know, I’m not), I’ve lost nothing but time- wasted on a fairy tale. So what? No harm done. If YOU turn out to wrong, you’ve lost EVERYTHING- your very soul. How big of a gambler are you?

    I’m praying that God will wrap His arms around you and lead you into the Truth.

    With love,
    from a redeemed hypocrite

Leave a Reply

