Anxiety, what a pain it is…

Does anyone else have to deal with anxiety? It sneaks up on you and before you know it you are worrying about things that are not happening, but could happen, concerned about how you are going to pay bills, taxes, and a list of other things! I hate this feeling. I have to fight it off on a regular basis. The only way that I can is when I think about what God’s word says. He has promised to take care of us in every area. We have nothing to fear, we have every reason to trust Him completely. As I look back on our life I see the hand of God in everything, He provided for us in ways that we still don’t understand, he took care of our children when they were in the grip of the enemy and brought one of them back and the other will come back as well. He has been our rock and hiding place in every situation we have faced. So I wonder why do I still have to fight off this anxiety? I choose on a daily basis to turn my fears and anxiety over to the Lord, and yes it is on a daily basis. And on a daily basis he calms my fears and relieves my anxiety, He is such a faithful God to His people.

One thought on “Anxiety, what a pain it is…

  1. My dad says that I come from a long line of people that just can’t stop the need to constantly worry. I can remember my dad’s dad sitting at the kitchen table with his head in his hand. I was told his mother did the same. I fight it alot more than I used to. Now they come in waves. I ask God to redirect my mind from things I can’t control or understand. Sometimes I do and sometimes I don’t. I have notice with His help I am not as out of control as I was. Still anxiety is a battle won only with Christ’s help. With everything going on in my life at this time, the doctor put me on an antidepresant. I still prefer chocolate and soda pop. Who do I have but the Lord? Is He not bigger than anything I will ever have to endure. Hour by hour, day by day, month by month, year by year, tear by tear, laugh by laugh, I choose also the will of my heavenly Father and His mercy to push through the storms of life, victories and loses, onward to the goal set before me as a child of God saved by graced and loved past the grave until I reach my home with Him on High. Lord help me never to lose focus and hang tight to the hand scared for my sins and loves me unconditionaly even when I doubt. For I don’t doubt God but myself and my fleshly reaction to a love I may never totally understand.

Leave a Reply

