Waiting on God’s promises…

When David was a baby he was prophesied over that “he would be in his right mind, and would preach the Word of God”. This same prophesy has been spoken over David at every home church that we have attended and at a couple that we were visiting. No the wording wasn’t exact but the spirit and intention of the word was the same. When David was around 5 or 6 he had a seizure that wouldn’t stop and he was life flighted to Springfield Mo St Johns hospital. We followed in the car. When we left, the enemy spoke what seemed so real that I thought everyone in the car heard him, he said that he was going to kill David this time and that when we got there he would be dead. At that moment in time I told him that God is the one who decides when His people die and that even if David were dead when we arrived, I would still serve the Lord with all my heart, mind and soul! Though He slay me yet will I trust Him! At the moment I stated this outloud to the enemy God spoke to my heart the scripture in Psalm 118:17 inserting David’s name “David will live and not die, and declare the works of the Lord!” I knew when we arrived at the hospital that my son would be alive. We have walked a long hard road with David and his handicaps and seizures. We have been believing God for a miracle for 24 years now. He started having seizures again in the last two years, after being seizure free for ten years. What is the deal? We, Charlie and I, have become somewhat weary in waiting on the Lord to perform this miracle. We still believe that we heard from God, we still believe that it will happen but we have become lazy in our belief.

My son Kevin has gone away to CBC and he came home this weekend with a burden for David that is so strong and urgent. I found myself not sharing this burden. Kevin has been praying EVERY night for Davids miracle, and he firmly believes that it is coming any day now. My son Michael prays for Davids miracle on a regular basis as well.  Kevin and Michael have made me step back and look at what is going on inside me where David is concerned and quite frankly I don’t like what I see there. Skepticism, unbelief, frustration, laziness, to name a few. I wonder did the people in the bible who had to wait a long time for God’s promises get discouraged or lazy? I think they did. I know that God’s promise is true and that He is going to do the work. I have had some say that maybe it won’t be like we think. Maybe He will work through David like he is now. Welllll the prophesy was that David would be in his right mind. I guess it is all up to interpretation. Whatever the Lord is going to do I am once again looking for it and expecting it soon. Thank you Lord for keeping the promise alive in this family, there is always someone who is standing strong! I am amazed at what God is doing in the lives of my children and the love they have for the Lord. They have their own relationship with Him that is based on their own knowledge and experience with the One True God! I only have one that is yet to come to this place and I know that God is faithful and will complete the work in her as well! I am praying daily for that to happen.

One thought on “Waiting on God’s promises…

Leave a Reply

