God when you look at me what do you see?

That is a question that I find incredibly scary to ask. I see a miserable failure, and God is perfect so asking Him that question just seems crazy! I know all the right things to say, when He looks at you He see’s Jesus because I am covered by His blood. I know this but I have such a hard time believing that God almighty really dosn’t see what I see. We had a missionary at our church a few weeks ago, something he said really hit me hard. He said that if you don’t succeed with your family than you are not a success…harsh words to say to a family that is struggling to the degree that we are with our children and some of their choices. What I took away from that service is that we are not a success, that because one of my children has made choices that are not okay I have failed. That sermon has played in my mind for all this time. But you know what? He was wrong. I trained my children in the way they should go, I taught them the word of God, I lived the life in front of them (not without mistakes), they watched me make mistakes and run to God for forgiveness, comfort, and help. I look back on things and I can see the hand of God in our family working in phenominal ways and still is. We made many mistakes and have failures that we are not proud of, but are we failures if our children choose to do wrong? No, we are not. Our children make their own choices and are answerable to God for those choices. I did what I was called to do, train them up in the way they should go. I trust that God is big enough to keep them when they are grown. It is not my job to keep them in right relationship with God. I am not a failure, as the enemy has relentlessly been telling me for months now. I am God’s daughter, I am human and have many flaws but it is Jesus in me that God sees and He thinks that I am a rip roaring success! I know that the missionary who spoke at our church did not mean to contribute to the lies of the enemy in my life, it just goes to show that the enemy uses everything and everyone to tell us lies about ourselves. He twists the truth and makes you think that a lie is the truth and that the truth is a lie. Very conniving!

One thought on “God when you look at me what do you see?

  1. Amen Sister. You are a wonderful Mother, Wife, Friend & person. You are a sucess. You do want God tells you do. You are in the will of God. Enemy uses other even Missionaries words to confuse us. When God looks at you He sees you a wonderful person & woman of after His will especially for your children. I love you but most important God loves you & is proud of you.

Leave a Reply

