Parenting is the hardest job there is…

You do all you know to do and still it seems at times that it is just not enough or good enough, letting our kids make mistakes even when we know they are avoidable and we could stop them from having to pay a high price for their choices is hard! We want to step in and “do it” for them! Keep them from having to walk the road that we have already been down, because we refused to listen to the counsil of our own parents…isn’t it interesting how the past repeats itself? I know we tease and tell our kids that they will have kids who act just like them when they grow up, but the fact of the matter is that I truly pray that my grandchildren do not act or treat their parents, my children, the way my children treat me sometimes. Now please understand that not all my children fall into this catergory all the time, oh no they take turns! And since I have six darlings I seem to be in this position an awful lot of the time! But I do have one who seems to be there most of the time! We try to teach integrity, the importance of good character, being who they are called to be, men and women of God. Being a man and woman of their word even when keeping their word means that they don’t get to do what they want to do at a later time. All things that most of my children have grasped and are doing well at for the most part. But it baffles me how they could all be raised in the same home with the same parents, and discipline and turn out so different! How is that you have some with the Godly character that was instilled in them as children shines through and is evident in their life by choices and conduct, while another in the same family makes every wrong choice possible and blames everyone else for the consequences of that choice? I am really having a hard time wrapping my brain around it! These choices hurt not only our family, but also our friends, church family, everyone that we hold dear. At this point all we can do is pray and everything we can do is pray! We have done all we know to do and now we are leaving the rest in God’s hands! Quite capable hands to be sure. But for people who like to be in control it is not a fun place to be. I guess we are all learning hard lessons right now.

2 thoughts on “Parenting is the hardest job there is…

  1. We’ll be praying for you, although, I do remember your childhood well, and well, I saw some of this coming. Good thing I was perfect as a child. Write a book, I may need it.

  2. “The heart break of parenting” would have to be the title and quite frankly the heaviness of my heart can not take the writing of it right now. But you could ask some of my children and I am sure they would be more than happy to share with you all the mistakes we have made and help you not to make the same ones. I do remember when we thought we knew it all…now we know nothing it seems.

Leave a Reply

