What do you think?


The whole idea of either of our choices for President of the United States leading our country at this time, or any time for that matter, is really disturbing. At this point it is picking the lesser of the two evils. McCain is not a good choice and in fact I am still baffled that the Republican party allowed the media to make this choice for us. I truly thought we were smarter than that! What is done is done, though, and now we are going to have to put our “big girl/boy panties/shorts on and deal with it!” McCain or Obama? Well I will tell you that Obama is, beyond words, not a choice for me. As I have stated in earlier posts. So that brings us to the question what would it be like if we went for 4 years without a President? Probably really bad idea…get out there and vote. We have more than just a president to vote for and those positions are important as well. Don’t neglect your civic duty, and if you do I don’t want to hear how you feel about those in office. And sticking your head in the sand and refusing to vote does nothing but show your ignorance. Let’s grow up and do what is right. Vote in November!

4 thoughts on “What do you think?

  1. You know what though, Lanie? A lot of people who feel as you and I do, that they are choosing the lesser of two evils, will choose not to vote, not because they are ignorant, but because in their conscience a less evil choice is still an evil choice. Being an active participant in choosing evil is not an option to some folks. I’m not suggesting that we should not vote, I am going to vote as always, even though I don’t like the choices, either. I’m just sayin’… Should we be judgmental of some Christians’ motives and accuse them of apathy, laziness, ignorance, etc., when they may believe their own moral duty is to abstain from supporting an evil choice? Doesn’t God expect us to live in the world, but not of it? To some, that may mean not participating in something they view as worldly evil. Make sense? You’re saying to grow up and do the “right” thing, but what is that? Do you feel RIGHT about either choice? Is it “right” to choose the guy who is slightly less evil than the other? Is that what God wants for us? I’m not trying to argue or say I disagree with you, because I don’t. I’m just saying there is a flip side to this issue in many Christians’ minds, and it’s not as simple as saying grow up and do the right thing. And I also thought it would be fun to stir the pot on your blog and make you squirm a little. Let’s see how well you can defend your position, baby.

    P.S.
    I have a solution to this whole thing, you know. When I don’t like the choices on my ballot, I just write in Darrell’s name. That way, I can honestly say I did my civic duty, I voted, but did not choose an evil candidate (at least MOST of the time I can say that. It depends on what he’s done that day, really).

  2. But what do with do with the old addage that all it takes for evil to prevail is for “good” men to do nothing? I think that we have a duty to do something and choosing not to vote is not an option that is going to accomplish anything accept helping the liberals take over the white house. Not to vote is not helping the situation. Perhaps if there were enough of us then we could write in someone like Mike Huckabee for instance. But to do nothing and expect it will make a difference is ignorance. And like I said if they are not going to vote then they also need to refrain from griping when our country goes south so fast we cannot even catch our breath. How was that? I still believe that we all need to vote, and I know several who won’t vote and they will complain out the wazooo about everything afterward. However I will say that if it is your plan to “not vote” and your vote was going to be for Barak, then please stay home, don’t vote!

Leave a Reply

