Road Trip

I woke up in the middle of the night last night ready to tell my daughters that I would take them to Manhattan, rather than Holly driving Stephanie back. I had this awful feeling that something bad was going to happen. This is called FEAR! Holly is a good driver, although she drives too fast and takes chances that I would rather she had the good sense not to take! She was up late last night because she worked closing at her job. So I am ready to take the reigns and just go myself even though that would mean missing class and not getting the info for the test tomorrow. Then the Holy Spirit speaks ever so softly to my heart…”Elaine what are you doing?” My answer is “I am going to take care of my kids and make sure they are safe!” (this in a rather irritated tone as I know He already knows what I am doing) That is when He very gently told me that He is the one who is taking care of my kids and that it is time for me to release them to His care completely. Well! (huff and stiff neck) I know that but I don’t want them to be in an accident! And He says “if you were there would you be able to stop the accident or just be part of it? Who is it, in this relationship, that can actually step in and prevent things from happening?” Okay so now I am listening. I am to let my girls go without me, I am to cover them in prayer, set their angels out around them and trust God to take care of them. Peace begins to descend as I release these precious girls into the hands of the Father, and I roll over and go back to sleep. This morning when I woke up I still had this peace. No matter what the day holds I know that God is in control of all of it. I prayed with the girls before they left and have placed them in the hands of the one who can do far more than I can to protect them.

5 thoughts on “Road Trip

  1. Some think when their children are young is the hardest part of parenting…but ask any parent of an adult child, and they will tell you otherwise. It’s a whole new level of trusting God, and He is soooo faithful, and as hard as it is for my earthly mind to imagine, He loves them more than I do, and they are very safe in His hands!

  2. ahhh, yes, the joys of parenting. If only I can let go of mine when the time comes. Be strong and know that God will walk you through this new level of cutting apron strings and letting go. (Be sure and remind me of this when it’s my time okay?)

  3. Trudy, I promise to remind you of everything you have said!!! 🙂 The girls made it just fine and all are well and alive! And I didn’t spend the whole day worrying only small moments of rebellion on my part! I am learning…

Leave a Reply

