comedy central at my house

I have a son who is so funny. We never know what he is going to say next! He has been a delight and sometimes a downright embarrassment but I wouldn’t want to live without him. Every family needs to have someone who can bring you to tears with laughter to get you through the hard times. Kevin has been that for me. On many levels he has been God’s way of saying “lighten up Elaine”! We can take things so hard and not be able to see the hand of God at work in our lives in the difficult and painful times. Kevin has always wanted to please us and has such a tender heart for the Lord, and for people…well most of the time for people! He see’s the funny in just about everything, even in the things that it is really not appropriate to find the funny in. He is still learning and we are still training. We went out to dinner tonight with the three of our six children who were home. We had a great time of laughing and spending time together. All those years of parenting are paying off now that they are almost real people! I miss the times when they were all little ( you know when I could make them obey me!) and there are many things I would do differently now, but I wouldn’t want to have missed the great time it has been being mom to these children! At least that is how I feel today. I could very easily feel differently about the whole thing tomorrow! I am so glad that God is faithful and that he is always there no matter what I am feeling at the time. We walk by faith and not by feelings, but for me most days include a huge dose of laughter due to having a future comedian in my home! If you ever hear my son telling his version of living in our home please remember that nothing he says can be trusted! He exagerates everything and some things he makes up! At least that is my story and I am sticking to it!

3 thoughts on “comedy central at my house

  1. ahhh, yes. Kevin. sweet, innocent, adorable Kevin. (very lone pause here trying to think of something else that’s nice about Kevin)

    so, the pause is over, and still nothing. don’t you just hate that? I know I do. Here, let’s try again…

    Kevin. (once again, I’m pausing to just allow the words to flow from my innermost being….)

    Nope, nothing yet….

    ya know….I think we just try this again tomorrow and see if it goes better!!!

  2. Okay, so I was kidding! Kevin is a complete and total hoot. You are blessed and highly favored to have him as a part of your family. Life would be so dull without Kevin around!!

  3. Hmmm Kevin, he is really not that funny… OK I tried not to encourage him. He is like you say, funny at funny times and then funny at times he should not be funny, but he has always been that way. We may one day see him on You Tube doing some kind of stand up act talking about his Mom saying, “careful!!”…

Leave a Reply

